Email Marketing to Canada? New Laws Will Affect You

Email Marketing to Canada? New Laws Will Affect You

Q: Who is the last of G8 contries to introduce into law compliance pertaining to Spam?

A: It’s Canada.

Canadian_Flag

The Canadian Anti-Spam Law (CASL) C-28 is due to become law in Canada in early 2013. Bill C-28 affects commercial emails that are either sent from or opened in Canada – and contains much stricter regulations than current US CAN-SPAM laws.

Although the legislation has been crafted and revised, the final approval is still pending. The CASL law is deemed to be the most aggressive piece of ant-spam legislation that is available and has several areas of compliance that are very unique for marketers to comply with.

The Canadian anti-spam law will be stricter than CAN-SPAM

Here in the US we have operated under CAN-SPAM since 2004 and have come to fully understand the implications and requirements, but CASL is going to be a little more problematic for marketers to understand and adopt. There are several differences between CAN-SPAM and CASL which you will need to understand should you be marketing to Canadian clients after 2013. Some of the key differences with CASL are that it:

  • Addresses a broad range of internet issues that affect the electronic marketplace today
  • Applies to all forms of electronic messaging (email, SMS, IM etc.) and NOT just email
  • Requires prior permission-based email, not opt-out as we are used to in the US
  • Allows private right of action available to anyone (individuals, businesses etc.) to bring a lawsuit based on the infraction.

Find out more about how this law will affect your marketing practice. 

Join me for a complimentary webinar as we discuss what marketers need to know about this new law. Topics will include:

  • Overview of Canadian Anti-Spam Law (CASL) C-28
  • What marketers should do in order to comply
  • How the Canadian law differs from EU laws

In addition to Bill C-28, I will also provide an overview on U.S. Can-SPAM compliance.

When: Thursday, September 6, 11:00 am Pacific; 12:00 pm Mountain; 1:00 pm Central; 2:00 pm Eastern

Register now for this free webinar, Fall Into Compliance. Hope you can attend!


About